To search for Sex Offenders with the Offender Watch Search Registry in your area
: Click here for Blaine County
To view national
information for the Offender Watch
Registry: Click here for National Registry
To view a registry of Idaho
Sexual Offenders visit the Idaho State Police Criminal Identification Bureau website
: Click here for State Registry
Warning: The information in the sex offender registries is provided only for the purpose of protecting the public. It is not to be used for the purpose of harassing or intimidating anyone. A person who uses registry information to commit a criminal act against another person is subject to arrest and prosecution under section 18-8326 or 18-8413, Idaho Code.
KNOW THE LAW
TITLE 18 CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS
SEXUAL OFFENDER REGISTRATION NOTIFICATION
COMMUNITY RIGHT-TO-KNOW ACT
§18-8302. The legislature finds that sexual offenders present a significant risk of re-offense and that efforts of law enforcement agencies to protect their communities, conduct investigations and quickly apprehend offenders who commit sexual offenses are impaired by the lack of current information available about individuals who have been convicted of sexual offenses who live within their jurisdiction. The legislature further finds that providing public access to certain information about convicted sexual offenders assists parents in the protection of their children. Such access further provides a means for organizations that work with youth or other vulnerable populations to prevent sexual offenders from threatening those served by the organizations. Finally, public access assists the community in being observant of convicted sexual offenders in order to prevent them from recommitting sexual crimes. Therefore, this state's policy is to assist efforts of local law enforcement agencies to protect communities by requiring sexual offenders to register with local law enforcement agencies and to make certain information about sexual offenders available to the public as provided in this chapter.
18-8307. (1) Registration shall consist of a form provided by the department and approved by the attorney general, which shall be signed by the offender and shall require the following information about the offender:
(a) Name and all aliases which the person has used or under which the person has been known;
(b) A complete description of the person including the date of birth and social security number;
(c) Name of each offense enumerated in section 18-8304, Idaho Code, of which the person was convicted, where each offense was committed, where the person was convicted of each offense, and the name under which the person was convicted of each offense;
(d) The name and location of each hospital, jail or penal institution to which the person was committed for each offense covered under this chapter;
(e) School or college enrollment; and
(f) Address or physical description of current residence and place of employment.
(2) At the time of registration, the sheriff shall obtain a photograph and fingerprints, in a manner approved by the department, and may require the offender to provide full palm print impressions of each hand. A violent sexual predator shall pay a fee of ten dollars ($10.00) to the sheriff per registration. All other offenders shall pay an annual fee of forty dollars ($40.00) to the sheriff for registration. The sheriff may waive the registration fee if the violent sexual predator or other offender demonstrates indigency. The fees collected under this section shall be used by the sheriff to defray the costs of violent sexual predator and other sexual offender registration and verification under section 18-8308, Idaho Code.
(3) The sheriff shall forward the completed and signed form, photograph and fingerprints to the department within three (3) working days of the registration.
(a) The official conducting the initial registration shall ensure that the notification form is complete and that the offender has read and signed the form.
(b) No person subject to registration shall furnish false or misleading information when complying with registration and notification requirements of this chapter.
(4) (a) Within two (2) working days of coming into any county to establish permanent or temporary residence, an offender shall register with the sheriff of the county. The offender thereafter shall register annually, unless the offender is designated as a violent sexual predator, in which case the offender shall register with the sheriff every three (3) months as provided in this section. If the offender intends to reside in another state, the offender shall register in the other state within ten (10) days of moving to that state.
(b) A nonresident required to register pursuant to section 18-8304(1)(e), Idaho Code, shall register with the sheriff of the county where employed or enrolled as a student within two (2) working days of the commencement of employment or enrollment as a student in an educational institution, provided that nonresidents employed in counseling, coaching, teaching, supervising or working with minors in any way, regardless of the period of employment, must register prior to the commencement of such employment.
(5) Registration shall be conducted as follows:
(a) For violent sexual predators the department shall mail a nonforwardable notice of annual registration to the offender's last reported address within three (3) months following the last registration;
(b) For all other sex offenders the department shall mail an annual, nonforwardable notice of registration to the offender's last reported address;
(c) Within five (5) days of the mailing date of the notice, the offender shall appear in person at the office of the sheriff with jurisdiction for the purpose of completing the registration process;
(d) If the notice is returned to the department as not delivered, the department shall inform the sheriff with whom the offender last registered of the returned notice.
(6) All written notifications of duty to register as provided herein shall include a warning that it is a felony as provided in section 18-8327, Idaho Code, for an offender to accept employment in any day care center, group day care facility or family day care home, as those terms are defined in chapter 11, title 39, Idaho Code, or to be upon or to remain on the premises of a day care center, group day care facility or family day care home while children are present, other than to drop off or pick up the offender's child or children.
CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR NAME
18-8309 (1) If an offender changes address or actual residence, the offender shall provide written notice of the new address within two (2) working days after the change to the sheriff of the county where the offender is required to register. The notice shall be on a form provided by the department. Within three (3) working days after receipt of the notice, the sheriff shall forward a copy of the notice to the department.
(2) If an offender changes address to another state, the offender shall provide written notice of the new address within five (5) working days after the change to the department.
(3) An offender whose legal name is changed by marriage, judicial order or any other means shall provide written notice of the name change to the sheriff and the department within two (2) working days of the order, event or other occurrence.