Concealed weapon licenses are issued by the Sheriff Department and may be obtained through our Driver's Services desk. The Driver's Services Desk is open Monday through Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 6 p.m. The office is located at Blaine County Annex at 219 First Avenue South in Hailey, Idaho. The phone number is (208) 788-5565.
Idaho Code section 18-3302 states a person shall not carry a concealed weapon without a license to do so, except in the person's place of abode or fixed place of business. A concealed weapon is defined as any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver, or any other deadly or dangerous weapon. The provisions do not apply to lawfully possessed shotguns or rifles. As of July 1, 2013 Idaho residents are allowed to carry concealed knives with blades four inches of less without a permit.
To obtain a concealed weapons license, an applicant must not be an illegally in the U.S. or a U.S. citizen who has renounced his or her citizenship. Applicants must complete the Concealed Weapons License Application form, and provide proof of firearm training, photo identification, and previous concealed weapons licenses (if any). The fee for the original issuance of a five (5) year permit is $75.00. The renewal fee is $35.00. Payment may be made by cash, credit card or check. The completed application and a complete set of fingerprints will be submitted by Driver's Services to the Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) for the required FBI criminal history records check.
The law allows the Sheriff's Office 90 days to process the application and background check; Average process time is 30-60 days. Upon approval, applicants will be notified to return to Driver's Services to be photographed and receive their concealed weapon license.
Idaho code prohibits a person, meeting any of the following criterions, from obtaining a concealed weapon license in Idaho. If the person:
- Is ineligible to own, possess or receive a firearm under the provision of state or federal law;
- Is formally charged or found guilty in any court with a felony (a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one (1) year;
- Is a fugitive from justice;
- Is a unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance as defined by federal law ;
- Is currently suffering or has been adjudicated as
- Lacking mental capacity
- Mentally ill
- Gravely disabled
- An incapacitated person
- Has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions;
- Has been found guilty, received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for one (1) or more misdemeanor crimes of violence within the past three (3) years;
- Is an alien illegally in the United States or a U.S. citizen who has renounced his or her citizenship;
- Is under 21 years of age (Please inquire about special circumstances for persons age 18-21 years)
- Is subject to a protection order issued against them that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening another.
- Has been found guilty of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
Additional information, requirements and exemptions regarding the issuance of a concealed weapon license can be found online at www.accessidaho.org/laws_rules/firearm.html